AP Japanese Language and Culture Exam 2020

Exam timing

The timed exam content for AP Japanese Language and Culture is 15 minutes long.

You’ll take the exam using the free AP World Languages Exam App. The app will guide you through the exam step by step. It will automatically record your responses and submit them.

On exam day, you'll click on the link in your e-ticket 30 minutes before the start time for your exam and fill in some information. You’ll be prompted to select Start My Exam to launch the AP WLEA and to complete your exam.

What to have ready on exam day

Required

  • e-ticket email (you’ll receive this two days before your exam)
  • Completed Exam Day Checklist, including AP ID
  • Device: An iOS or Android smartphone or tablet is required. The exam cannot be taken on laptop or desktop computers. Your iOS or Android smartphone or tablet must have:
    • AP World Language Exam App installed (available week of May 11)
    • Access to the internet by Wi-Fi or cellular data
    • At least 30 MB of available storage
    • At least 25% battery charge (or connection to a power source)
  • Browser: Chrome (recommended), Firefox, Safari, or Edge
  • Internet or cellular connection
  • Assistive technology and devices (if applicable, for students approved to test with accommodations)

Permitted

  • Your class notes or study guides
  • Textbooks and other classroom resources
  • A print, online, or app-based dictionary to look up words
  • Previous assignments or assessments
  • Paper and pen/pencil to take notes and prepare for tasks
  • Headphones with microphone (headphones without a microphone won't work)

Questions

Question 1 (consistent with current time for FRQ 3)

% of exam weight (rounded)

50%

Question name

Conversation

Question description

Question 1 will consist of the same components as the traditional AP Japanese Language and Culture Exam interpersonal speaking task. The tasks students will complete in 2020 are the same as they would usually complete in the Conversation—the only difference is how they will receive the directions. In 2020, students will receive the directions aloud only, rather than visually. The student will hear the directions twice each in English.

Corresponding free-response question (FRQ) type in the course and exam description binder

FRQ 3, with minor adjustments to accommodate exam administration protocols.

Question 2 (consistent with current time for FRQ 4)

% of exam weight (rounded)

50%

Question name

Cultural Perspective Presentation

Question description

Question 2 will consist of the same components as the traditional AP Japanese Language and Culture Exam presentational speaking task. The tasks students will complete in 2020 are the same as they would usually complete in the Cultural Perspective Presentation—the only difference is how they will receive the directions. In 2020, students will receive the directions aloud only, rather than visually. The student will hear the directions twice each in English.

Corresponding free-response question (FRQ) type in the course and exam description binder

FRQ 4, with minor adjustments to accommodate exam administration protocols.

What’s covered

Units eligible for 2020 exam: Units 1–4

Units not included in 2020 exam: Units 5–6

Other course-specific info

This year, the AP Japanese Language and Culture Exam has two speaking tasks. There are no written responses and no reading tasks.

Get detailed information about taking AP world language and culture exams.

Sample exam task directions and prompts for the 2020 exam

Download example exam task directions and prompts (.pdf/589 KB) similar to what you’ll see on the 2020 AP Japanese Language and Culture Exam.

2020 primary exam date and times

The May AP Exams are complete. For reference, here is the past primary exam date and time for this course.

Date: May 19

Hawaii Time: 10 a.m.
Alaska Time: 12 p.m.
Pacific Time: 1 p.m.
Mountain Time: 2 p.m.
Central Time: 3 p.m.
Eastern Time: 4 p.m.

See more time zones

Makeup test date and times

The early-June AP makeup exams are complete. For reference, here is the past makeup exam date and time for this course.

Date: June 5

Hawaii Time: 8 a.m.
Alaska Time: 10 a.m.
Pacific Time: 11 a.m.
Mountain Time: 12 p.m.
Central Time: 1 p.m.
Eastern Time: 2 p.m.
See more time zones

Exception testing date and times

The late-June AP exception testing exams are complete. For reference, here is the past exception testing exam date and time for this course.

Date: June 30

Hawaii Time: 12 p.m.
Alaska Time: 2 p.m.
Pacific Time: 3 p.m.
Mountain Time: 4 p.m.
Central Time: 5 p.m.
Eastern Time: 6 p.m.
See more time zones

Resources